Chowchilla Water District rejoins Friant Water Authority

Visalia, Calif. – During its July Board of Directors meeting, the Friant Water Authority (FWA) approved the addition of another member district. This followed a vote by the Chowchilla Water District Board of Directors on July 12, 2017 to join FWA as an Associate Member.

During the meeting, the Board approved a membership agreement with Chowchilla Water District (WD). The Chowchilla WD had previously been a member of the Friant Water Users Authority (FWUA), FWA’s predecessor, and Kole Upton, current President of the Chowchilla WD, served as FWUA’s Chairman from 1998 to 2008.  With the addition of Chowchilla WD, all previous FWA districts currently part of the Friant North Authority are represented on the FWA board. The water districts within Friant North Authority will continue to caucus on issues important to farmers in that region. As members of FWA, they add an important voice and give FWA a stronger, more effective voice in representing its members on water resources issues.

Kent Stephens, chairman of the FWA, is pleased by this addition. “The Chowchilla Water District has long played a critical role dealing with the difficult issues facing the Friant Division, and having their voice back will provide tremendous value both to the board and the entire Friant Division”

Kole Upton observed, “The CWD staff and board was impressed by the presentation from Jason Phillips and Jeff Payne during the past few months at CWD and FNA Board meetings. We are impressed with the leadership of the Board of Directors particularly Kent Stephens and Eric Borba. It appears Friant is on the way back to becoming the water leader of the east side of the San Joaquin Valley.”

The membership of FWA is comprised of Arvin-Edison Water Storage District, Chowchilla Water District, City of Fresno, Fresno Irrigation District, Hills Valley Irrigation District, Kaweah Delta Water Conservation District, Kern-Tulare Water District, Lindmore Irrigation District, Lindsay-Strathmore Irrigation District, Madera Irrigation District, Orange Cove Irrigation District, Porterville Irrigation District, Saucelito Irrigation District, Terra Bella Irrigation District, and Tulare Irrigation District.